MP's Column

Congestion on the A30 west of St Erth is estimated to cost West Penwith's economy £3.1m per annum. Furthermore, the junctions at St Erth Railway Station and Crowlas are extremely difficult to navigate for road-users who want to get on and off the A30. People who have lived patiently along this section of road, particularly residents in Crowlas, are losing their patience because it can no longer meet the demand we place upon it.

In view of this, I raised the issue in Parliament during a debate about the South-West's road infrastructure. This follows a visit last summer by the Roads Minister, Andrew Jones MP, who met with parish councillors and residents, and subsequent meetings in my office in Penzance with Highways England and Cornwall Council.

The Government is currently inviting proposals for road improvements to be included in the Road Investment Strategy 2 (the improvements to the A30 at Temple and Carland Cross to Chiverton Cross were included in the Road Investment Strategy 1).

This is our opportunity to consider how the A30 can meet both the demand today and also prepare for future demand. We need to reduce congestion, reduce harmful emissions and boost our local economy. I am seeking advice from campaigners in North Cornwall who successfully campaigned for the dual carriageway at Temple regarding how we proceed.

Calling musicians and film-makers from West Cornwall to enter Parliament’s two largest creative competitions, Rock the House and Film the House. The competitions, now in their fifth year, offer the opportunity to put local musicians and film-makers in direct contact with the movers and shakers of the two industries.  We are renowned for our artistic and creative ability and I urge all local musicians and film-makers to enter Rock the House and Film the House. This is an excellent opportunity for West Cornwall to celebrate our local talent and, as all nominations are judged by industry experts, there is no finer chance for our musicians and film-makers to gain exposure.

Derek Thomas
Member of Parliament for St Ives